Eastfield College Logo
The mission of Eastfield College is to provide excellence in teaching and learning.

Eastfield Student Success

EFC Takes Home 31 Awards

Eastfield College’s Student Media team from The Et Cetera, The Alternative, and eastfieldnews.com won 31 awards this weekend at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention in San Antonio. During the three-day convention, students attended workshops led by current and former media professionals, including Dallas Morning News columnist Steve Blow, and competed in live on-site contests.

Sixteen of our students received individual awards, including seven first-place honors, for previously published material from Spring 2013 and Fall 2014. In addition, Alex Hernandez took first place in the live editorial cartoon competition, where he competed against two-year and four-year college students from across the state. The following is a complete list of the award winners:

First place, Live Editorial Cartoon, Alex Hernandez
First place, Editorial, Caitlin Piper
First place, Critical Review, Caitlin Piper
First place, Feature Story, Justin David Tate
First place, General Column, Justin David Tate
First place, Sports Feature Photo, Justin Yanger
First place, Opinion Page Design, Yolanda Ramirez and Jonathan Wences
First place, Sports Page Design, Yolanda Ramirez
Second place, Best of Show, Staff
Second place, In-Depth Reporting, Justin David Tate
Second place, Sports News Story, Kevin Cushingberry Jr.
Second place, Sports Feature Story, Kevin Cushingberry Jr.
Second place, Sports Column, Kevin Cushingberry Jr.
Second place, Sports Feature Photo, Kevin Cushingberry Jr.
Second place, Critical Review, Braulio Tellez
Second place, Photo Illustration, Yolanda Ramirez
Second place, Sports Page Design, Yolanda Ramirez
Second place, Literary Magazine Short Story, Keturah Jones
Second place, Literary Magazine Feature Photo, Chanel Jimenez
Third place, News Story, Danyelle Roquemore
Third place, News Photo, Yolanda Ramirez
Third place, Single Subject Design, Yolanda Ramirez
Third place, Information Graphic, Yolanda Ramirez and Justin David Tate
Third place, Feature Photo, Jessica Garcia
Third place, Literary Magazine Poem, Ginny Morris
Honorable mention, Overall Excellence, Staff
Honorable mention, Best Website Navigation, Miguel Padilla
Honorable mention, Page 1 Design, Danyelle Roquemore
Honorable mention, Feature Page Design, Yolanda Ramirez
Honorable mention, Information Graphic, Chadney Cantrell and Claudia Guerra
Honorable mention, Ad Design, Alex Kennedy

If any of these students are in your classes, please congratulate them on a job well done. Also, if you have students who excel in writing, artwork, or design, please send them to see either me or Gary Piña, our new student publications manager, in N-240, N-241 or N-242. Many of these students will not be here in the fall, so we will be looking for students to join our award-winning student media team. It will be a great experience for them.

Lori Dann
Vising Scholar of Journalism
Faculty Advisor, Student Media