Current Students > Tutorial Videos > View Your Messages in eConnect

View Your Messages in eConnect

​Transcript: 

After watching this video, you should be able to use eConnect to view and manage official communications sent to you from Dallas County Community College District. 

These communications include important notices regarding your academic or student record and are maintained as a permanent part of your record. 

However, they are only available through eConnect for 150 days from the date they were received. 

To manage new or unread messages: First, navigate to the eConnect Main Menu page at https://econnect.dcccd.edu. 

Click Log In in the upper right. On the Log In page, enter your Student ID and password, and then click the Submit button. 

Click Current Credit Students Menu. 

Locate the My Personal Information section of the page, and then click My Messages. 

Click the option icon to the left of the message you want to read, and then click the Read Message button below the list of messages. 

You can use the buttons below the message to print, delete, return to the list of messages, or return to the student menu. 

I'll click the Return to List button. 

To manage previously viewed messages, click the View Previous Messages button, which is located below the list of messages. 

Use the drop down menu in Action column to indicate which messages you would like to read and/or which you would like to delete. 

Select read for each message you want to read.

Select delete for each message you want to delete. 

After identifying which messages you want to read and/or delete, click the Read/Delete button. 

The messages you selected to read are displayed. 

Below the messages you have buttons that you can use to print the messages, delete the messages, return to the list, or return to the student menu. 

I'll click the Return to List button. 

Any messages that were marked for deletion have been removed from the list. 

If you accidentally delete a message, you can restore it as long as it has not been more than 14 days since it was deleted. 

To restore a deleted message, click the View Deleted Messages button. 

Select the check box in Undelete column of each message you want to restore, and then click the Undelete button. 

Click View Previous Messages to confirm that the messages have been restored. 

It's important to note that when you delete a message from eConnect, it has not been permanently deleted. 

The message remains as a part of your official student record. 

However, 14 days after it was deleted, it will no longer be available through eConnect. 

When you have finished managing your messages, you can click Credit Student Menu to continue working with eConnect, or click Log Out in the upper right to exit. 

The messages feature in eConnect is an important communication tool, so be sure to use it regularly to review your messages.