Spring 2020 classes have resumed online.
Please visit dcccd.edu/coronavirus for additional information and to learn how to prepare for online classes.

Current Article

ETC TIPA 19.jpg

The Et Cetera student media team brought home 38 awards last weekend from the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention in Corpus Christi.

The Et Cetera received 13 first place awards for work published in the print edition and online at eastfieldnews.com. The website was named first place for Overall Excellence in its division.

Andrew Walter, the paper's copy editor, placed first in the live copy editing contest and second in live headline writing. Photo editor Yesenia Alvarado won third place for live news photo. Editor in Chief Aria Jones received a $500 scholarship.

The student art and literary journal, The Alternative, earned first place for Overall Excellence and first place for Overall Design.

Six students attended the three-day convention, where they competed in live contests, participated in workshops with professional journalists, and networked with other student media teams from colleges and universities across the state.


Awards for previously published content

First Place

James Hartley, sports game story, feature photo, sports page design

Andrew Walter, editorial

James Hartley, David Silva, critical review

Yesenia Alvarado, feature story

Willie R. Cole, Julio Vega, Colin Taylor, multimedia sports story

Jesus Ayala, breaking news photo

Jackie Trevino, cartoon strip

James Hartley, Aria Jones, Yesenia Alvarado, Jesus Ayala, social media breaking news

Staff, headlines

Staff, special edition design

Staff, overall excellence website

Alternative Staff, literary magazine overall excellence, overall design

Second Place

Esther Moreno, Jesus Ayala, Marisol Ramirez, in-depth video

Willie R. Cole, sports action photo

Mateo Corey, Aldahir Segovia, ad design

Staff, overall design newspaper

Staff, Best in Show newspaper


Third Place

David Silva, sports game story

Aria Jones, in-depth reporting

Narely Martin, feature news video, general news video

Jesus Ayala, Caroline Ceolin, David Silva, Daija Heaven, general news multimedia

Josue Hernandez, breaking news photo

Anthony Lazon, editorial cartoon

Jesus Ayala, general news photo

Manuel Guapo, Yesenia Alvarado, infographic

David Silva, Esther Moreno, feature page design

James Hartley, social media breaking news

Staff, overall design website

Staff, overall excellence newspaper


Honorable Mention

Manuel Guapo, newspaper cover design